Welcome to New Mexico DWI Law.com
This informational web site is intended to provide useful information to citizens accused of Driving While Intoxicated in New Mexico.
WARNING! If you have been charged with refusal to submit to a breath or blood test, or if you provided a breath sample with a B.A.C. of .08 or higher if over 21 years of age, or .04 or higher if driving a commercial vehicle, or .02 or higher if under 21 years of age, your driver's license or privilege to drive will be revoked twenty (20) days after your arrest, unless you make a written request for a hearing within ten (10) days of your arrest.
Penalties for DWI will vary depending on the facts of your case, the jurisdiction or court that you are charged in, and whether this is a first offense, second offense or other subsequent offense. It is important to note that any aggravated DWI, even a first offense aggravated, has mandatory jail time. Good legal counsel can have a great impact on the penalties as well, consider talking to an attorney soon.
Important Driver's License Information
In most cases, after your arrest for DWI you will be served with a Notice of Revocation by the police officer that arrested you. In rare cases, the notice will be mailed to you via registered mail.
You MUST make a written request for an administrative hearing or your license will be revoked.
Your WRITTEN request for a hearing on the revocation of your Driver's License must be received by the Motor Vehicle Department within ten (10) days from the date you were served with a Notice of Revocation. Your request must also be accompanied by a payment of $25.00 or a sworn statement of indigency (Form MVD-10813, available at any motor vehicle field office or click HERE)
Click HERE to download a Request for Hearing form you can print, fill out and mail in. Be sure to check the box marked "I want the officer to be a witness at my hearing."
THIS REVOCATION IS COMPLETELY SEPARATE FROM YOUR CRIMINAL CASE!
has represented out of state drivers in DWI/DUI, traffic, license and other criminal matters for over 14 years. Click here to learn more about a great attorney.
We are often able to resolve your moving violations, speeding or other misdemeanor and traffic charges without you ever having to return to New Mexico.
We have resolved traffic cases throughout New Mexico and are ready to help you resolve your New Mexico ticket, warrant, misdemeanor and other criminal matters. Whether your ticket is in Albuquerque Metro Court, or one of the New Mexico Magistrate Court or Municipal Courts throughout the state, we can help.
If you have failed to appear, failed to pay fines or otherwise had a warrant issued, your license will be suspended- Contact us today. If you have a Metro Court Warrant, a Magistrate Court Warrant, of any New Mexico Warrant, contact us. We have been able to resolve traffic warrants, license suspensions, revocations and other license related issues for out of state drivers without them ever having to return to New Mexico.